Piper Flyer Association - Technical Know-how, Serious Fun read more

Topic-icon Saratoga mentor/instructor needed

More
1 year 4 months ago #803

Hello All,
I only recently joined this forum. I'm a private pilot with instrument rating living in Northern New Jersey. I've been looking at six seaters and wanted to learn more about Saratogas. I've looked at some at a brokerage and went on a short flight with the salesperson but I'd prefer to get my information from an actual owner. In particular, I'm curious what they are like to fly and would greatly appreciate it if someone would be willing to take me along on a short-trip; happy to pay for fuel and other costs. If there are any CFI Saratoga owners out there in my area, I'd love to pay you for a lesson so that I could get a sense of how they handle. I could also use some guidance with the plane purchase process once I confirm that's the plane I want.
Thanks,
Joe

Please Log in to join the conversation.

More
1 year 4 months ago #805

Hi and good hunting. The airframe on the Saratoga is tough and heavy-duty and is the same one as on my Seneca. If I didn't have a Seneca I would have the Saratoga. Good luck in your quest.

Scott Sherer
Seneca N344TB

More
1 year 4 months ago #806

The Saratoga (IMO) is similar to flying an Archer but is larger (heavier) and faster. The other difference to me is that the Saratoga requires for leg power on the ground for taxiing. It's like a minivan for the sky (holds a lot of cargo) so depending on what you need... I have had mine for 10+ years (probably longer than the average) but really like it even if it's more room than I need now. It's a good cross country airplane, very comfortable / roomy in the cockpit. It takes some getting used to if you're not used to flying high performance to stay ahead of the plane. Unfortunately, I don't live near New Jersey and am not a CFI. Feel free to post other questions and welcome to the group. Good luck in your search...