Piper Flyer Association - Technical Know-how, Serious Fun read more

Topic-icon Engine Preheater

• MARY MCMAHON
  • MARY MCMAHON's Avatar Topic Author
  • Subscriber
  • Subscriber
More
1 month 4 weeks ago #1563

Having always operated in temperate climates I have no knowledge of preheaters. I'm going to be spending some time in cold climates occasionally and was looking into purchasing an electric preheater. Does anyone have suggestions or words of wisdom?

Please Log in to join the conversation.

More
1 month 3 weeks ago #1564

Hi Mary, This article will answer provide you with a broad base of winter operating tips.
Tips for getting started for winter flying
By Steve Ells
"The lower the ambient temperature, the higher the volatility of the fuel must be, or starting aids, such as engine heaters or primers must be used,"
—Chevron Aviation Fuels Technical Review
Winter is a good time to fly. The cooler denser air provides more lift and the engine makes more power than is possible during warm weather months. The sun's rays are less direct so there's less thermal lifting which translates into a smoother ride and less violent storms. All those factors contribute to the enjoyment of winter flying. But all these benefits come at a cost.
Aircraft engines need to be pre-heated before each winter start. Snow and ice need to be completely removed from wings, and controls must be checked for complete range of travel prior to every launch. Although it's not a necessity pre heating the cabin will pay big dividends in comfort and in the reduction of window fogging.
Engine Preheat