Piper Flyer Association - Technical Know-how, Serious Fun read more

Topic-icon Greetings and Salutations, Seneca Owners

• SCOTTSHERER
  • SCOTTSHERER's Avatar Topic Author
More
4 years 1 month ago #38

Greetings fellow Seneca owners. I haven't heard from any of you since the new website was launched. I still have my trusty 1977 Seneca 2 that I've been restoring for about eight years now. Paint is next up as soon as I finish installing my Knot2U mods. Central Aviation in Watertown, Wisconsin is my paint shop of choice and I hope to have it done by the end of this year.

Take a moment to send me your greetings! I'm sure that I'm not the only Seneca owner on these forums!

Scott Sherer
Racine, Wisconsin
N344TB

Please Log in to join the conversation.

More
4 years 3 weeks ago #54

Hi There Scott,

My son and I just bought a 1975 Seneca II. We just had it Ferry permit flown into our home airport - DeLand, FL. We are very excited to finally receive it, and start refurbishing it.

I am very curious about what improvements you have made. We are pretty green to the PA-34 platform, and what things we should do to improve the airplane.

Are you doing all of the Knots 2 you mods? What paint scheme are you using? What does your panel look like? Our Seneca had not flown for over 5 years. We have a shop doing the annual - we are not mechanics, like it sounds like you are.

Thanks for the post.

Kent

• SCOTTSHERER
More
4 years 2 weeks ago #55

Greetings, Kent,

thanks so much for your email. I've had this particular Seneca for about ten years now but I've had 3 Seneca's over the last quarter century, or so. Regarding mods and refurb, here's what I've done so far.
1. Installed a new Airtex interior with new glass.
2. Overhauled all panel instruments.
3. Garmin 530W, gdl69, gmx-200, Century 2000 autopilot with gpss and altitude preselect. Able to do lpv approaches.
3. All Knots2U mods and Lopresti nose bowls.
4. 30 gallon auxiliary fuel tanks totaling 160 gallons.